What do you know about international cricket?
Source: | Author:Doosansports Erin | Published time: 2023-10-13 | 702 Views | Share:

What do you know about international cricket?

Cricket (or paddleball) is a team sport in which two teams play against each other with eleven players. Its modern form originated in England and is prevalent in common wealth countries, such as the United  Kingdom, Australia, New Zealand,In dia,South Asia, southern Africa, the West Indies and other places.Cricket is played mainly in the spring and summer,complementing football played in the autumn and winter.

Cricket matches vary in length, with a match in an international cricket match lasting six hours or more a day for up to five days;There are also many lunch and tea breaks; As well as the abundance of cricket terminology, it is very confusing to the cricketer. 

But for fans, the sport and the intense competition between the top cricket national teams provide passionate entertainment.Let's take a look at the international game of cricket!


ICC Cricket World Cup 

The ICC Cricket World Cup is a one-day single innings cricket tournament organised by the International Cricket Council. The tournament is one of the most watched sports in the World, the fourth largest event in the World after the OlympicGames, the FIFA World Cup and the Rugby World CupThe 13th ICC Men's Cricket World Cup will be held in India from 5 October to 19November 2023, with the one-day International Cricket tournament (ODI) being held every four years since 1975.

(Below, the 48 matches will be played in 10 different stadiums across India, with the final at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad on November 19.)


Women's Cricket World Cup 

A Women's Cricket World Cup is a limited overs tournament which started in 1973,two years before the first men's competition, and has been held approximately every four years since then. The next tournament is to be held in New Zealand  in 2025.

ICC Champions Trophy

The ICC Champions Trophy is a One Day International (ODI) tournament that is coordinated by the International Cricket Council (ICC).

 The Champions Trophy is second in importance to the 

Cricket World Cup.In its first tournament held in Bangladesh in 1998, the Champions Trophy was introduced as the ICC Knock Out Tournament.It has been played roughly every two years since 2002, when the title of the competition was replaced with“ChampionsTrophy’’.The format used in the Knock Out tournaments was different to the format used later in the Champions Trophy. The Knock Out was an instant knock out with no pools and the defeated team from each game was dropped from the  competition. Thetournament only included the eight highest-ranked One Day International (ODI) teams as of six months earlier ahead of the competition.In 2013, it was announced that the 2013 Champions Trophy would be the last,replaced in the cricketing calendar by the ICC World Test Championship. However, in earlyJanuary 2014, the ICC confirmed that a Champions Trophy tournament was to be held in 2017 and the planned World Test Championship has been called off.

ICC Champions Trophy current holders - Pakistan.

The following Champions Trophy due to be played in 2021 in India was canceled.

 Pakistan, which has been starved of international cricket recently owing to security

 reasons,has been selected to host the 50-over Champions Trophy in 2025.

ICC World Twenty20 (men) 

The ICC T20 World Cup is the international championship of Twenty20 cricket.   

The international Cricket Council (ICC)organizes the World Twenty20. 

The first edition was in South Africa in 2007, where India defeated Pakistan by five runs in the  final held in Johannesburg. 

The most recent tournament was played in Australia.The ICC World T20 is scheduled to take place every two years.

However, no tournament was held in 2018, then the 2020 tournament was postponed. Consequently, there was a five-year gap between the 2016 tournament and the latest tournament which was held in 2021 in UAE and Oman (which was moved from India). One year later, there was a tournament in Australia.

ICC World Twenty20 (women) 


The  International Cricket Council (ICC) Women's T20 World Cup is a biennial international cricket tournament of Twenty20 cricket for national women's teams. The tournament features the top teams from around the world competing in the T20 format,a shortened version of cricket played over 20 overs per team .The first edition of the ICC Women's World T20 was held in 2009, and the most recent edition was held in 2023. The tournament features a group stage followed by knockout matches, with the winning team being crowned the World T20 champions.The ICC Women's World T20 provides a platform for the best women's cricketers in the world to showcase their skills and compete for the top prize in the shortest format of the